NZ Book Awards

Ockham_Book_Awards_lo#26E86 (2)

In 2016 the NZ Book Awards was reinstated after a year off due to lack of funding. Not only was there a new sponsor – thanks Ockham Residential! – but the prize was promised prominence at the yearly Auckland Writer’s Festival in May. So, what are bookclubbers to do but read the shortlist and try and predict the winners?!

With four categories and 16 books shortlisted and only eight weeks in which to read them, we don’t imagine we’ll read everything, but we’ll start with the fiction and see where we end up, making wild predictions along the way!

NZ Book Awards 2020

Fiction winner: Aue
Suzy & Rachel’s favourite: Halibut On The Moon

Non-fiction winner:
Poetry winner:
Illustrated non-fiction winner:

NZ Book Awards 2019

Fiction winner: This Mortal Boy – Dame Fiona Kidman
Suzy & Rachel’s favourite: The Cage – Lloyd Jones

Non-fiction winner: Hudson & Halls: The Food of Love by Joanne Drayton
Poetry winner: Are Friends Electric? by Helen Heath
Illustrated non-fiction winner: Tatau: A History of Sāmoan Tattooing by Sean Mallon and Sébastien Galliot
Maori language winner:He Kupu Tuku Iho: Ko te Reo Māori te Tatau ki te Ao by Sir Tīmoti Kāretu & Professor Te Wharehuia Milroy

NZ Book Awards 2018

Fiction winner: The New Animals – Pip Adam
Suzy & Rachel’s favourite: Sodden Downstream – Brannavan Gnanalingam

Non-fiction winner: Driving To Treblinka: A Long Search For A Lost Father – Diana Witchel
Poetry winner: Night Horse – Elizabeth Smither
Illustrated non-fiction winner: Tuia: A Traveller In Two Worlds – Alison Jones & Kuni Kaa Jenkins

NZ Book Awards 2017

Fiction winner: The Wish Child by Catherine Chidgey
Suzy & Rachel’s favourite: The Wish Child by Catherine Chidgey

Non-fiction winner: Can You Tolerate This? by Ashleigh Young
Poetry winner: Fits & Starts by Andrew Johnston
Illustrated non-fiction winner: A History of NZ Women by Barbara Brookes

NZ Book Awards 2016

Fiction winner: Coming Rain by Stephen Daisley
Rachel & Suzy’s favourite: Coming Rain by Stephen Daisley

Non-fiction winner: Maori Boy by Witi Ihimaera
Poetry winner: The Conch Trumpet by David Eggleton
Illustrated non-fiction winner: Tangata Whenua by Judith Binney, Aroha Harris & Atholl Anderson

%d bloggers like this: